I don’t know why, but I’m just not in a picture mood this week.  I took a break from the week in photos last week, and now I can’t find my point and shoot, so I guess this week will be another week off, too.

In other news, this is my first year participating fully in Great Lent, as I was chrismated and baptized into the Eastern Orthodox Church last Easter (which comes right after Lent.)  On a surface level, what this means is that I’m going to be on a vegan diet until Pascha (Easter).  But obviously it means a lot more than just that.  What, exactly does it mean then?  Well, that’s something I’m still in the process of understanding and figuring out.  So hopefully more on that later…

For now, I end with a quote I read tonight by a Catholic saint that I found really challenging:

“Love for our neighbor consists of three things: to desire the greater good of everyone; to do what good we can when we can; to bear, excuse, and hide other’s faults.” –St. John Vianney

That last one is the one that really struck me.  I can’t even count how many times I bitched about and exposed people’s faults this week.  From my professors, to my boss, to my own family members.  😦  I hardly realized it was wrong at the time, but after reading this quote, I realize how unloving it really was.

I’m going to really try and work on this one for a while.

How about you?  In what ways have you been challenged to be more loving lately?

